Did you know that the tomato’s origin is South America?  Neither did I until today!

Tomatoes also have high amounts of antioxidants!

Miss Melody Joachim brought me over some free heirloom tomatoes from the Pittsburgh Project yesterday!!  I got a couple of beautiful squash as well.  She’s the best one!

So I thought I would take this unexpected surprise delivery and turn it into a really colorful and mouth watering salsa.

I make salsa almost the same way every time, but these tomatoes are amazing and really made the salsa taste unbelievable!

So here is my tried and true process.

Ingredients:

4 tomatoes

1/2 bunch of cilantro

1 jalapeño  (YES, I am still attempting to use up the supply)

1 small onion 

2 tsp salt  

2 cloves garlic

Put the following ingredients into the food processor:

1. Cilantro Leaves

2. Chopped jalapeño

3. One of the tomatoes  (diced)

4. Garlic  (roughly chopped)

5. Salt

-Blend until the texture is smooth

Dice up the rest of the tomatoes and the onion and toss with the jalapeño/cilantro puree.

How beautiful is that?!?

Love,

Jeanette